Skip to main content
What’s Happening

Week of July 24 – July 31, 2023

July 24, 2023

Parksville Lawn Bowling Club

Urgent need for baking

The Club has an urgent need for baking (cookies, muffins etc.) for use in the upcoming tournaments. Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Vicki

Laws of the game questions ….. What’s the rule on that.

Q1. A bowl has been delivered on Rink 1. The skip standing behind the head on Rink 2 sees that the bowl from Rink 1 has been delivered quite widely and is about to hit a bowl on Rink 2. This skip rushes forward and stops the Rink 1 bowl. Now what happens?

Hint. It depends on which bias the bowl was delivered with.

Answer

The relevant Law is 37.6. If the bowl was delivered with the correct bias, (no need to judge if it would have affected the head), it will be returned to be replayed. If it was on the wrong bias it is a dead bowl and sits on the bank until the next end is played.

Q2. A skip inadvertently kicks a previously delivered bowl that was in the head and moves it but manages to stop it from contacting any other bowls. What happens to the moved bowl?

Answer

The relevant Law is 37.1.5.1. ” the opponent (of the player who accidentally kicked the bowl) must put the bowl back to its former position. Emphasis on ‘must’, it can’t be left where it is. The opponent has full control of where the bowl is placed, the kicker has no say in the matter. In the spirit of the game the opponent should not place the bowl in a more advantageous position than it originally was.

Q3. In a triples game the leads and thirds from each team have delivered their bowls. The great march of the skips and leads/thirds from one end of the rink to the other is in progress. Skip A and his third, who has just delivered his last bowl, stop mid-rink to discuss what a great bowl it was and what to do next. Meanwhile the other 4 players keep walking and skip B picks up her bowl and approaches the mat, only to see that Team A’s skip and third have just completed their conference and are now walking to their respective ends of the rink. What law has possibly been broken and by which team?

Answer

The Law is 13. Possession of the rink. The skip and third of team A who stopped to confer in the middle of the rink have broken this law. Following delivery of Third A’s last bowl and when all bowls have come to rest, possession of the rink immediately passes to Team B. That means Team B has the right to deliver their next bowl as soon as they are ready, without having to wait for their opponents to get out of the way. In this situation where all the players are moving from one end of the rink to the other, the team that does not have rink possession (Team A), should not consult mid-rink, or linger to inspect the head as they walk past it., they should get to the other end of the rink with or ahead of their opponents. In an umpired game the penalty for repeated rink possession violation could range from having their last bowl removed from the head, to the end being replayed if that bowl has disturbed the head.

Martin

February 2024
25 February
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Short Mat

26 February
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Mahjong

27 February
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Short Mat

28 February
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Crib

28 February
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Darts

29 February
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Bridge

March 2024
01 March
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Short Mat

03 March
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Short Mat

04 March
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Mahjong

05 March
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Short Mat

06 March
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Crib

06 March
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Darts

No event found!
Load More