Skip to main content
What’s Happening

Parksville Pairs Tournament Winners

June 17, 2024

Parksville Lawn Bowling Club

The Two day Parksville Open Pairs Tournament sponsored by Hearing Life was held on June 15th and 16th.  There were some truly tight games this past weekend and there were a number of winners in their divisions coming from different clubs.  The games were played in a winner plays winner format.  In A Division, first place  and the trophy went to Dean Penny and Shelley McCollum from Courtenay.  Second in A went to our own Rick Dolley and Sandi Mitchell.    In first place in B Division  were Parksville’s Merry Danarti and Bob Allaby.    Second in B went to another Parksville team, that of Mary and Kent Card.  Rounding out the final top placements were the  Nanaimo club’s  C and D with Ian and Anne Yewer and Vern Hagstrom and Linda Cooper.    Winners of their final games were the teams of James MacDonald and Darlene Opacic from Qualicum Beach (D), April Gilchrist and Vern Greenhill (C) from Courtenay, Ken and Carol Bucyk (B) from Parksville and Diane Cruickshank and Bill Burgess (A) of Parksville as well.    A very big thank you goes out to Lynn and the kitchen magicians  who kept us supplied with goodies, the grounds crew who always do a fabulous job, our bartending crew who kept us hydrated, the umpires who gave of their time,  and to Joey Merrell who undertook her first running of a tournament.   Well done, everyone. Not to be forgotten, our ace cub photographer, Chuck Benson, who took numerous pics of the days’ events.   Once again, a special thanks to Hearing Life who made this whole event possible.


Tournament organizer, computer genius and data collector, Joey Merrell.
Winners of A Division and trophy winners Dean Penny and Shelley McCollom from Courtenay.



Sandi Mitchell and Rick Dolley, second place winners in A Division.


Bob Allaby and Merry Danarti, winners of B Division from Parksville
Kent and Mary Card, second place winners of B Division from Parksville.
Ian and Anne Yewer,  Nanaimo and winners of C Divison.

D Division Winners from Nanaimo were Vern Hagstrom and Linda Cooper.






July 2024
22 July
All Day

All Day – Green Closed

22 July
All Day

Registration for Club Novice and Intermediate Singles Tournament Closes

22 July
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm

6:30PM – Interclub Triples

24 July
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

6:30PM – PGOSA

No event found!
Load More